We’re excited that you have joined our organization!
This online orientation is designed to provide the specifics needed to reserve and use our cars, a brief overview of our rates and billing system, and anything else you may need to know about our systems and procedures. You’ll soon be on your way to sharing with us.
Welcome aboard and happy car sharing!
As a local nonprofit car sharing organization, our mission is to provide and promote alternatives to individual car ownership, thereby reducing the environmental and social impacts associated with motor vehicle use.
Colorado CarShare provides our members with some fantastic benefits:
We offer three different rate plans:
Free Wheelin’ = $12/month with our lowest rates for members who plan to drive more than 5 hours per month.
Peace of Mind = $0/month and No Annual Fees, with affordable rates for members who plan to drive less than 5 hours per month.
Simply Hourly = $12/month and 100 miles/day included, for members who plan to have longer, multi-day rentals.
For full details on our usage fees and rate plans visit our website: Plans Page
Once you are a member, you will be able to login to our booking system.
The password is what YOU entered on your online application. If you don’t remember your password, click on the “Don’t know your username or password?” box and follow the prompts (check your spam folder for the reset email).
If you have difficulties logging in, please email [email protected] or call 303.720.1185 during business hours (M-F, 9am – 5pm).
When you first log in we recommend you verify and customize your user locations. Our system will display all our vehicles based on the proximity to the location you select. If you plan to frequently use vehicles close to home or work, we recommend you create a Starting Point for each of these in our online booking system.
Bookings for all of our vehicles are first-come, first-serve via our website or mobile booking system. One of your most important responsibilities as a carshare member is to be conscientious about your bookings. Be accurate about dates, times and vehicle type. All bookings are round-trip, so vehicles must be picked up & dropped off at the same location.
Colorado CarShare vehicles can be driven anywhere within the state of Colorado, or up to a 400 mile radius from the Boulder / Denver metro area, whichever is greater. Taking a Colorado CarShare vehicle beyond the authorized area of use is a violation of your Member Agreement and could result in a $250 fine, membership suspension, and suspension of insurance coverage provided by Colorado CarShare during the unauthorized trip. Note: 400 miles will allow for most trips about 6-7 hours away from the metro area. This includes Durango, Grand Junction, Taos, NM & Cheyenne, WY.
All of our members expect the car to be there at the beginning of their booking. Returning the car late can cause a significant inconvenience to the next member. For this reason we have significant Late Fees – which are completely avoidable if you bring the car back on time or extend your booking before it ends.
If you do NOT extend your booking or notify us that you are running late before your booking ends, then you will be fined $1 per minute that you are late.
If you call us at least 15 minutes BEFORE your reservations ends, then we will extend your reservation if possible. If that’s not possible and you displace the next member the Late Fee is $0.50/minute (provided you have notified us you will be late, if you do NOT notify us then the Late Fee is $1/minute).
To avoid penalty fees, if you are running late:
Be very conscientious about your booking details and be certain about your end time before starting a trip! It is significantly less expensive for you to add a little time onto a booking than to be assessed a late fee. Not only will you keep your costs down, but you will also be keeping your carshare karma up.
All of our vehicles are equipped with a ‘keyfob’ entry system. You will receive your own personal fob shortly after you've been notified that your account has been activated. Carry your fob with you at all times. You are responsible for ALL use associated with your fob. If you lose your fob, contact us immediately!
Now that you have your fob, how do you use it?
NOTE: Some Priuses and EV’s do not have physical keys. Simply put your foot on the brake and press the start button. See the instructions in the glove box for additional info about driving these cars as needed.
ALWAYS lock the car using your KEY FOB whenever you leave the vehicle. Do NOT use the car’s interior door locks. A great way to check that you have successfully fobbed out is by pulling the door handle to ensure that the doors are locked. Your reservation is over when you return the vehicle to its parking spot (where you picked it up) and you fob out.
It is super important to use your fob to unlock AND lock the car. Not only is that how we track your reservation timing, but it keeps our cars from being stolen. Your fob enables and disables the ignition when you fob in and out. This is how we can safely keep the actual keys to the car inside of them.
Members are required to refuel whenever the gas gauge is at or below 1/2 a tank. Refuel the vehicle completely with 85 octane gas when the vehicle is at less than ½ tank or charge when the vehicle has less than 50% charge before returning the vehicle to its location at the end of your reservation. Email us ([email protected]) a receipt from the gas purchase and we will credit your carshare account with the amount you spent on gas.*
If you do NOT refuel when required, you will be charged a $25 refueling penalty fee. Please keep an eye on the gauge on your way back to your parking space.
*Prepaid billing is an option for all members, and may be required depending on your age and payment history. Contact us if you would like more information about our prepaid billing options.
All of our members are fully covered under our insurance policy with a $1000 deductible for incidents involving vehicle damage. However, we recognize that $1000 can be a large, unexpected expense. We created the Damage Fee Waiver Program to provide peace of mind by reducing your potential out-of-pocket expense.
We offer a low-cost annual option to reduce your deductible cost:
If you decided not to enroll during the application process, you can enroll yourself by logging into the online booking system, clicking “My Account” and then choose “Damage Coverage”. For more information see our website.
Our on-call staff is available at303.720.1185 if you encounter any of the following issues that do not allow you to begin/continue your reservation:
You can enter general non-urgent feedback by:
Examples of useful feedback are:
Thanks for completing our Online Orientation! We look forward to having you as a member. If you ever have any questions or suggestions throughout your membership don’t hesitate to contact us.
If you don’t receive you keyfob via mail in approximately 3 days please contact us.
-The Colorado CarShare Team