We recommend using a desktop PC or Mac to verify your account information online.
Click here to view our tutorial about How to Make a New Booking with the Mobile Website.
Once you feel ready to try it out, click here to login to the new system.
Account Settings Overview
Please verify your account information online and take a look a customization features which make vehicle reservations even easier.
Please click here to review our Account Settings manual.
Once your details are updated, click here to login for vehicle bookings.
If you need more time for your booking, please try using the Mobile system to easily extend your return time by tapping the green ‘Add 15 Minutes’ button. If you return a car late without notice our new system will automatically apply a fine of $1 per minute.
If you cannot extend your reservation because another member has the car booked immediately after you, if you call us (303.720.1185) at least 15 minutes before your reservation ends, your late fee will be reduced to $0.50 per minute.
After clicking ‘Search’ if you want more details about a particular location, hover your mouse over the location name for a pop-up window showing more vehicle info & a map of the nearby area.
If you have a consistent timeframe that you need a car you easily make repeated bookings. First book the car you want for the specific times needed. Next select the booking you want to duplicate from ‘My Bookings’ then scroll down click the ‘Repeat Booking’ tab in the blue modification box. Enter the day you want a same car for the same times in the future then click ‘Book It’. (This is helpful for getting to a class, weekend volunteer shifts, dropping kids off at sports practice or any other tasks that occur regularly.)
If your plans change and impact a future bookings, just cancel any booking at least 12 hours before it begins to avoid any charges for that booking.
Household or Business Login
Each member has a Driver number added onto their Username. Example: 1234:01 for 1st Driver, 1234:02 for 2nd Driver
Join the CarShare Revolution
Ready to Accelerate Your Freedom? Just fill out the appropriate application below:
To open an individual account, add a driver to an existing account (personal, organization or university), or open a household account:
You must have at least 2 years of licensed driving experience, so you must be at least 18 years old.
If you are 18 – 21 years old you must have a clean driving record (something your mom would be proud to show off ).
If you are over 21 you still need to have a very good driving history. A few minor incidents/violations will be accepted, but nothing major like a DUI.
If you consider yourself a permanent Colorado resident then you must get a Colorado driver’s license within 30 days of establishing permanent residency. (You are responsible for following all applicable State laws.)
If you are a temporary Colorado resident (such as a student or visiting professor) you can apply using your out of state license.
If you are a temporary Colorado resident and have a foreign driver’s license, you must provide with us a current, official driving history record (in English).
For more instructions on how to obtain a foreign driving record, please visit this page.
Please note the $25 application fee is non-refundable
Step 3. We’ll process your application and mail your fob.
As soon as you submit the online application form we’ll get the ball rolling. If you have a Colorado driver’s license, we can generally get your account set up by the end of the next business day. (Please allow a minimum of 2-3 additional business days if you have an out of state driver’s license, and possibly longer for a foreign driver’s license.) After you are approved, we will mail your fob to you.
If you would like to get your keyfob faster, you may pick it up from one of our our offices. Just let us know where and when you will pick it up at [email protected] or 303.720.1185.
Step 4. Make a reservation and enjoy your new wheels!